A valid license is required for the gateway to function properly (this is only applicable to the Professional and Enterprise edition). If a valid license is not available, the gateway will not encrypt outgoing email.
A license can be uploaded with the “Upload” button.
30 days before the license expires, a notification on the Web GUI will be shown that the license will expire in 30 days. 7 days before the license expires, a daily notification email will be sent to the configured notification recipients with a warning that the license is about to expire.
A license can be valid for a certain number of users or for unlimited users. If a license is only valid for a limited number of users, the users which are authorized to use encryption should be configured (see). If a sending user is not authorized, a message cannot be encrypted.
If the global setting “Auto assign license” is enabled (which is the default) and the license is only valid for a limited number of users, a license will be automatically assigned to a sender if there are licenses available. If the number of used licenses exceeds a certain limit, a notification email will be sent to the configured notification recipients about the number of available licenses (a notification will be sent at 25%, 50%, 75% and 100%).
If the license is for unlimited users, users do not have to be licensed.